Verily Paradise

did you hear it?
it was rain pouring down. embracing darkness at dawn. dripping onto a solid thirty minutes of wetness. fed the drought with moisture. finally it’s here! it is everything we have been waiting for. it was raining at dawn, when I was half awaken.

did you see it?
it pour down at dawn. outside your window. and it was gloomy all morning. the scenery look different this morning. their faces look different since morning. the road all sharp and fresh all morning. the cotton umbrellas soak all over this morning. even my sprain ankle look better since morning..

didn’t you know it?
oh forget my last sentence. even in paradise accident happen and rain is welcomed verily. I remember 2012 when I just learn how to ride a bicycle. I practiced in the rain. it was when no one would be out their door. it was when they rolled comfortably underneath their blanket during the rain. it was when I achieve something but I just didn’t want them to see. it’s OK. the old rain knew. I was outside with it the whole time. it witnessed me made not a single fall on that bike.

don’t you believe me?
you don’t have to if you don’t want to. I will leave it with you while we stay here talking about your boring routine, my swelling ankle, your broken nose, my desperation over stupid bed rest. we stay here a few more minutes until we run out of question to ask to each other. oh here comes something it’s just crossed my mind..

did you smell it?
yes. the scent of wet grass! and earth. freshness. cleanness. ahhh inhale deeper that blessing filling up all your senses with its every drop.

don’t you feel it?
you said all it does is rain there and it’s no good. I must say, you can switch five months of rain with me anytime. I love rain. and I also love the goldish colored sky. it is when the blue sky is blue-er than their eyes, with lush of clouds blown bubbly up above. here, the sun rises and sets differently. its hue. its edge. its energy.

did you recon?
the contrast of green paddy fields merge with road side. the black vulcanic sand where I love to bury my feet while I’m looking at the white lines beneath sea-reflected space. ahead of foamy sea where the riders ride its wave and at far sight its water crumpled, ready to curve another curl.

do you agree?
really? I agree with you too. don’t you worry, you will be here anyday soon because you miss what I used to missed. the only thing is, now I stay. because this what I’ve asked for since this verily paradise stole my heart years ago..

Leave a comment